Flight Causes Team California to Forfeit Matches

Team California Red was forced to forfeit its dual championship match against Team Texas as it attempted to make its return flight to California. Team California Blue went through the same situation in its third-place match against Team Michigan.

Team Red had started the dual meet championship on shaky ground, having lost a close contest to Team Michigan, 33-39, in the pool portion of the tournament. The team, bounced back in the second round beating the Ohio Draw team 57-23. California would then seal it first place finish in its pool be besting Team Tennessee – who had beat Michigan in the second round – in a dominant fashion, 57-12.

In its pool Team Blue received a first round bye and then defeated Team Texas C, 73-6, in the second round. In the third round, Blue would be victorious over the New Mexico Draw Team, 73-6 and then follow up the performance with a 84-0 rout of Team Minnesota in the next round. The fifth round would decide what team finished first in the pool as Team Blue faced Team Oklahoma which it handled easily, 71-9.

California Blue would meet Team Colorado in the quarterfinals and come out the winner with a score of 66-12. California Red, which was on the same side of the bracket as Blue, met some opposition from Team Kansas but came away with the victory, 46-30.

Teams Blue and Red would face each other in the semifinals. Only two matches would be wrestled, with the rest going to Team Red by way of forfeit. It is being reported that Team California flight times prevented it from wrestling for the championship and third-place and instead would have to settle for second and fourth. A true shame to think that scheduling prevented our hardworking wrestlers from completing the task they set out to do. Nonetheless, I know we are all proud of them. Hopefully, this issue will not play a part in the dual meet again.

The wrestlers that represented Team California are as follow:

California Red
Lexy Beadles
Cassandra Betancourt
Gurleen Bhullar
Unity Cordova
Natalia Diaz-Portillo
Miranda DiBenedetto
Jaydan Driskill
Aleena Gomez
Tatianna Herrera
Ellisa Jimenez
Jordyn Knecht
Miranda Koppi
Savannah Lewis
Isela Mendez
Solana Mottola
Ximena Pulido
Hannah Ricioli
Nallely Rivadeneira
Paola Sanabria
Adrienna Turner
Tamsin Urbas
Elysia Urrea
Samantha Utter
Hailey Ward

California Blue
Alia Abushi
Hailie Beadles
Jasmin Clarke
Chloe Desouza
Hollie Espinoza
Leah Gaitan
Danielle Garcia
Dalia Garibay
Katie Gomez
Tiera Jimerson
Michelle Kamyshin
Adriana Lopez
Francesca LoPresti
Artemisia Matera
Lillian McCoy
Chelsy Mendoza
Melanie Mendoza
Alisha Narvaez
Cristelle Rodriguez
Lizette Rodriguez
Mikayla Vega

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × three =

© 2013-2019 SoCalWrestlerGirl
%d bloggers like this: